91-day bill4.64%5 Oct
364-day bill9.80%5 Oct
Inflation5.0%31 Aug
GSE index14,14230 Sept
Gold coin, 1ozGH₵50,8262 Sept
BOPPGH₵70.0015 Oct
SCBGH₵69.892 Oct
GCBGH₵40.188 Oct
EGHGH₵40.0015 Oct
91-day bill4.64%5 Oct
364-day bill9.80%5 Oct
Inflation5.0%31 Aug
GSE index14,14230 Sept
Gold coin, 1ozGH₵50,8262 Sept
BOPPGH₵70.0015 Oct
SCBGH₵69.892 Oct
GCBGH₵40.188 Oct
EGHGH₵40.0015 Oct

For Ghanaians abroad

Can you invest in Ghana without going there?

It is the first question, and the one that decides everything — not the charge, not the return, but whether the thing is reachable at all. Here is what Ghanaian providers state in their own material. There is not much of it, and that is the finding rather than a gap in this page.


Four banks will open an account for you from abroad — and they disagree on who qualifies, where you must be, and what paper you need →

What providers actually publish

Where you can invest

Funds and brokerage accounts.

Databank Wealth Management

Databank · Balanced

Discretionary management rather than a single fund. The USD 20,000 minimum is Databank's, published on the same page as the statement that foreign nationals are accepted.

Databank state that a foreign national can open a Wealth Management account, requiring a scanned copy of an international ID and a deposit made by bank transfer. The same page states a minimum of the cedi equivalent of USD 20,000. Documents listed: completed mandate form and questionnaire, passport photograph, national ID or passport, proof of address, and a client indemnity form.

Compare charges and returns →Databank →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 5 September 2026.

Databank MFund

Databank · Money market fund

Ghana's first money market fund, launched 2004. Charges and minimum not yet obtained — asked.

Databank state that an account can be opened at any Databank location, online, or by USSD on *6100#. Whether a non-resident can complete the online route is not addressed either way.

Compare charges and returns →Databank →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 5 September 2026.

Treasury bills via Ecobank TBill4All

Ecobank Capital Advisors · Government Treasury bills

The same 91-day and 182-day Government of Ghana Treasury bills listed elsewhere on this site — this is a distribution channel, not a different instrument. What differs is the minimum and the way in.

One-time registration by dialling *770# from an MTN Mobile Money wallet. Ecobank state that no bank account is required. Purchases, rediscounting and statements are all done from the phone; confirmation arrives by text. Ecobank also state that no taxes are payable on Treasury bills bought through the platform.

Compare charges and returns →Ecobank Capital Advisors →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 5 September 2026.

IC Liquidity Fund

IC · Money market fund

Minimum GH¢1 to open and maintain. IC publish the full route — onboarding, identification, activation time, funding and withdrawal — which no other Ghanaian provider we track does.

IC publish the whole route. Their FAQ states that you open an account at onboarding.ic.africa with a passport-sized picture and a valid national ID — and names Passport or a Ghana/Ecowas ID card as acceptable. The account is activated within 24 hours, after which you invest at wealth.ic.africa paying by debit or credit card, mobile wallet, bank transfer, bank deposit or ExpressPay, or by setting up a direct debit. To take money out you log in and select withdraw, and the cash is paid to the bank or mobile wallet associated with your IC account. What the FAQ does not say is whether somebody resident outside Ghana may apply — it states which documents are accepted, not who is eligible. A passport being acceptable means the requirement is satisfiable from abroad; it does not mean the application would be. We have asked.

Compare charges and returns →IC →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 9 September 2026.

SBG Securities

SBG Securities

SBG Securities publish a FAQ headed "I live outside Ghana, how can I trade?", answered: complete an account opening form and submit it by email to brokerage@stanbic.com.gh. Their required documents list names "Proof of Foreign Address (for Non-Resident clients)" and a resident or work permit for non-Ghanaians, alongside passport-sized photographs, a Ghana Card or passport, proof of physical address and an email indemnity. Orders are also placed by email using a securities deposit form. Whether the whole process can be completed without travelling is not stated, and we have asked.

SBG Securities →Their share of GSE trading

Read from their own material on 9 September 2026.

EDC Stockbrokers

EDC Stockbrokers

EDC Stockbrokers publish eligibility requirements on their trading portal with a section headed Non Resident: a completed account opening form and a mandate card. They add that non-resident accounts may be subject to specific requirements under each country's regulations, that their customer service officers are available for clarification, and that copies of documents should be notarised by a foreign authority for non-residents. The notarisation requirement is worth costing before you start — a notary outside Ghana charges a fee per document, and some institutions also want an apostille. Absa Bank Ghana require the same thing in a stricter form — certification by a lawyer, notary or court, mandatory for Ghanaians living abroad. Zenith require neither.

EDC Stockbrokers →Their share of GSE trading

Read from their own material on 9 September 2026.

Databank Brokerage

Databank Brokerage

Databank Brokerage state on their own site that they facilitate the trading of securities by both local and foreign investors, individuals and institutions alike. Their brokerage account opening form provides for non-resident applicants, with fields for a foreign residential address, foreign mailing address, foreign telephone and foreign tax identification number, and "Proof of Foreign Address (for Non-Resident clients)" among the required documents. What that means for a particular applicant — which documents, whether the process can be completed without travelling to Ghana — is not stated. We have asked.

Databank Brokerage →Their share of GSE trading

Read from their own material on 5 September 2026.

Where you can hold money

Bank accounts for Ghanaians abroad.

Zenith Bank (Ghana)

Zenith Bank (Ghana)

Zenith publish a Diaspora Account and state plainly who it is for: Ghanaians resident abroad, who may open and operate an account from anywhere in the world. Savings, current and fixed deposit accounts can all be held under it. Eligibility is stated rather than implied — the applicant must be a Ghanaian resident abroad and 18 or over. It is not open to non-Ghanaians. Available in Ghana cedis, US dollars, pounds and euros, though a Diaspora Savings holder must open a cedi account first before operating any foreign currency one. Minimum initial deposit is GHS 500 or its equivalent in foreign exchange, with GHS 200 to be maintained at all times. Accounts for minors can be opened by a parent or guardian, and internet banking is included. The current account under the scheme is cedis only, with a GHS 500 minimum opening balance. What is required is light by comparison with other Ghanaian providers: a downloaded account opening form, one passport-sized photograph, and a copy of a Ghana Card front and back or a valid international Ghanaian passport — uploaded by email to diasporacustomerservice@zenithbank.com.gh. No certification or notarisation is mentioned, where Absa require certification by a lawyer, notary or court and EDC Stockbrokers require documents notarised by a foreign authority.

Zenith Bank (Ghana) →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

Absa Bank Ghana

Absa Bank Ghana

Absa publish a standing offer to Ghanaians abroad rather than a separate diaspora product. The same statement appears on their current account, forex current account, savings account and premier account pages: "Are you a Ghanaian living abroad? Opening an account as a diasporan has never been this easy and simple. Our team of dedicated Diaspora consultants are readily available to provide you with expert support on your account opening journey." The accounts themselves are the ordinary ones. The current account requires no minimum balance and charges GHS 21.50 a month, with a debit card carrying travel insurance cover of up to GHS 100,000. The forex current account also requires no minimum balance, gives 24-hour access in foreign currency, and can be held alongside a cedi account. Documents for a Ghanaian living abroad: a valid passport bio-data page or Ghana Card front and back, proof of residence, proof of employment where salaried, and a foreign tax identification number where the applicant is a US person. The requirement that costs money is certification. Absa state that evidence of certification of documents is mandatory for Ghanaians living abroad — by a lawyer, a notary public, or a court of competent jurisdiction — and that the person certifying must be known and capable of being contacted. A notary outside Ghana charges per document, so on an account with no minimum balance the paperwork may cost more than the opening deposit. What Absa do not state is whether the whole process can be completed without travelling. An online form and a named consultant is not the same as a published remote route, and we do not present it as one.

Absa Bank Ghana →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

Fidelity Bank Ghana

Fidelity Bank Ghana

Fidelity publish a Non-Resident Ghanaian Account, marketed as Bank Home From Abroad and described as designed for Ghanaians abroad, giving a way to manage finances and bank securely from anywhere in the world. The terms are the most generous of any Ghanaian bank we have found. Minimum opening and operating balance is 100 — in cedis, dollars, pounds or euros, with no requirement to hold a cedi account first. There is no monthly maintenance fee on any currency. The cedi account pays 2% a year, credited monthly on balances of GHS 5,000 and above. It carries a chequebook, a Visa debit card and access to the mobile app and ATMs — and access to a mortgage facility worth up to US$500,000. Two constraints sit in their account opening form. Identification is stated as "ONLY Valid National I.D", which is narrower than the passport-or-Ghana-Card other banks accept. And to open the account with cash, the form says the customer must deposit it at the nearest branch. Requirements otherwise are a completed and endorsed form, two passport-sized photographs, confirmation of residential address and an initial deposit.

Fidelity Bank Ghana →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

GCB Bank

GCB Bank

GCB publish Link2Home, an account for Ghanaians resident abroad, and their eligibility is the widest of any Ghanaian bank we have found. Four groups qualify: Ghanaians resident abroad; Ghanaians by birth who have acquired the citizenship of another country; persons born to at least one Ghanaian parent; and a foreigner married to a Ghanaian, on joint accounts. That third group is the one worth noticing. Somebody born in London to a Ghanaian parent, who has never held a Ghanaian passport, qualifies here and at no other bank on this page. The account can be savings or current, in cedis, dollars, pounds or euros, held individually, jointly or in trust, with Visa or MasterCard access in Ghana or abroad. The constraints run the other way, and they are published plainly. The account is opened with an initial deposit "(when in Ghana)". Savings account holders must be present at the branch to make over-the-counter withdrawals. And a newly opened diasporan account must be funded within 14 days. So the bank with the broadest view of who counts as diaspora also appears to expect a visit, where Zenith state an account may be opened and operated from anywhere in the world. Which suits somebody depends on whether they travel to Ghana at all. Requirements: a completed account opening form, proof of identity such as an ECOWAS identity card or valid passport, proof of a residential address abroad, one passport-sized photograph, and an initial deposit on receiving the account number.

GCB Bank →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

Where you can borrow against Ghanaian property

Mortgages. The opposite transaction — you are taking money, not placing it.

First National Bank (Ghana)

First National Bank (Ghana)

First National publish four home loan products and state for each that it is available to resident and non-resident Ghanaians, with funds in cedis, US dollars or pounds sterling and up to twenty years to repay. The First-Time Buyer Home Loan requires an offer letter from the vendor to qualify. The Buy to Let Home Loan is for borrowers who already own a residential property and want another to rent out. The Home Construction Home Loan is a two-part facility — a one-year construction loan rolled into a long-term mortgage. And the 100% Purchase Home Loan is for a first-time buyer unable to raise the minimum deposit, carrying an additional insurance policy of up to 30% of the purchase price. That 30% is insurance rather than a deposit or a loan-to-value ratio, and is easy to misread as either. First National acquired Ghana Home Loans, the former GHL Bank, and are described in the Ghanaian business press as the country's mortgage leaders. They publish no interest rate on any of the four products.

First National Bank (Ghana) →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

Republic Bank (Ghana)

Republic Bank (Ghana)

Republic Bank state that their Home Purchase Mortgage is open to Resident and Non-Resident Ghanaians. They publish up to 100% of property value for resident Ghanaians borrowing in cedis, and up to 80% for non-residents borrowing in US dollars, with a minimum 20% equity contribution, a debt service ratio of 50% on cedi loans and 40% on dollar loans, and terms of up to 20 years in cedis or 15 years in dollars. The rate is not on that page — it appears only on their mortgage calculator.

Republic Bank (Ghana) →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 13 September 2026.

Stanbic Bank Ghana

Stanbic Bank Ghana

Stanbic publish seven home loan products and no rate. Home Purchase at up to 80% financing; Developer Construction, where the bank pays the developer in stages; Refinancing, internal, external or cash-out; Equity Release against an existing property; Home Improvement; an Employer Group Mortgage Scheme; and Vacant Land Financing at up to 60%. They state no maximum loan amount, describing it as dependent on income. The rate is described only as a competitive variable interest rate in GHS, USD, GBP or EUR. Two things follow. It is variable, where Republic Bank's published mortgage rates are fixed — which is the difference between knowing what a twenty-year loan costs and not. And sterling and euro are offered, so somebody earning in those currencies can borrow in them and carries no exchange rate risk on the repayments. First National Bank offer cedis, dollars or pounds across four home loan products; we said at first that no other Ghanaian lender offered this, which was wrong — we had checked four banks and generalised to twenty-three.

Stanbic Bank Ghana →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 13 September 2026.

Absa Bank Ghana

Absa Bank Ghana

On mortgages they publish terms and no rate: up to GHS 5,000,000; up to 90% finance for home purchase and construction in local currency and 80% in foreign currency; up to 70% for equity release or home improvement; maximum debt service ratio of 50% local and 45% foreign currency; tenor of 5 to 15 years for a fixed rate; property and credit life insurance included.

Absa Bank Ghana →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

Fidelity Bank Ghana

Fidelity Bank Ghana

Applying for a mortgage from abroad needs one thing Fidelity mention only on the application form: a Power of Attorney where the applicant is non-resident. That is a legal instrument drawn by a lawyer, and no other Ghanaian provider we track mentions needing one. No mortgage interest rate is published anywhere on their site.

Fidelity Bank Ghana →What we hold on them

Read from their own material on 14 September 2026.

And everyone else says nothing

We track Ghana’s collective investment funds and the twenty-three stockbrokers trading on the exchange. The entries above are what we could find published about access, from anybody.

Of the twenty-three stockbrokers trading on the exchange, three — listed above — set out who they will take on. For any other broker or fund manager, ask whether they accept non-residents, which documents they need, and whether you need a Ghanaian bank account first.

This page will get longer. We ask providers what a diaspora investor needs, and publish whatever comes back, cited and dated.

We hold no price history for the products above. Where a provider sends one it appears on their page, with the charges beside it.

What to ask before you send money

Ask before, not after. Seven questions, and any provider can answer all of them in one reply.

  1. 1Do you accept applications from someone resident outside Ghana?
  2. 2Which identity documents — is a passport enough, or is a Ghana Card required? Do you need proof of my address abroad?
  3. 3Can the whole application be completed remotely, or does some part need me in Ghana?
  4. 4Do I need a Ghanaian bank account or mobile money wallet before I can start?
  5. 5How would I fund the account from abroad — international transfer, card, or something else?
  6. 6How would I get money out, and can it go to a bank account outside Ghana?
  7. 7What is the minimum to open, what does it cost me a year, and which currency am I holding?

If you get an answer, send it to us and we will publish it on that provider’s page, cited and dated, so the next person does not have to ask. data@cedafin.com

Three things worth knowing regardless

The Ghana Card may matter more than it looks. The National Identification Authority states that the card is mandatory for transactions requiring an applicant to establish their identity, and names banking among the services it covers. Every provider above currently accepts a passport as an alternative. Ghanaians abroad can register for the card at Ghana Missions, so it is worth asking whichever provider you approach whether a passport remains acceptable to them.

An online form is not a policy. Several Ghanaian providers have web application forms, and some of those forms have fields for a foreign address. That establishes that the form accommodates a non-resident. It does not establish that the application will be accepted, and we do not present it as though it does.

The exchange rate will matter more than the fund. Whatever you invest in, the rate you get moving money in and out is likely to move your outcome more than the difference between one product and another. How to tell whether your rate is any good.

Why sending money home is not the same as investing it →

Know a Ghanaian abroad wondering what they can invest in? Send it to them.

WhatsApp